Classic Truffles

(From the Charlotte Cooks booklet I got from a class I took at CPCC)

Ingredients:

8 oz heavy cream

1 oz corn syrup (2 Tbsp)

1 lb dark chocolate, chopped (I used semi-sweet chips and I found no discernible taste difference between Ghirardelli and Harris Teeter brand)

1 oz sweet butter (2 Tbsp, and they mean unsalted), softened (not melted)

More chocolate, melted, for coating

Makes roughly 50 truffles (but fewer for me because I made larger ones)

Instructions:

Bring and cream and syrup to a boil.

Pour the hot cream mixture over the chocolate and allow to rest without stirring for 2 minutes. Gently stir the mixture with a wooden spoon or rubber spatula (I used a spoonula) until fully blended and smooth. If necessary, heat the ganache over a hot water bath (I asssume double boiler) to melt all of the chocolate. Add the butter and stir until melted and smooth. Allow to set until the ganache has reached room temperature. And here is where I diverge from the booklet… Put the ganache mixture, covered, in the fridge for a couple of hours to let it harden up. I found it impossible to work with at room temperature (the recipe calls for room temperature chocolate in a piping bag, which I find an unnecessary step).

Once it has set, use a cookie scoop (the ones with the spring, I can’t remember what size mine is but I’m thinking 2 Tbsp) to dip chocolate. I scraped the excess on the side of the bowl to make dome-shaped truffles. If you wish, you may roll them into balls. When you have used up all of the ganache, put your truffles back into the refrigerator on a parchment paper lined pan to harden them up again.

(This would be a good time to melt the chocolate for dipping. I use a double boiler with a metal bowl over a pot with hot, but not boiling, water)

To finish, drop the truffles one at time into the melted chocolate and stir QUICKLY! to coat, then remove with a fork. (I used these.) If you want to add toppings, this is the time before the chocolate hardens. I added chopped nuts but you could add sprinkles if you want.

Put back in fridge to let them harden once again. I also keep mine stored there as well.

Leave a Reply

