Been reading

I’ve been reading Good Calories, Bad Calories today. I started it ages ago but it’s not bedtime reading because, let’s be honest, it’s very fact-y and science-y and by 11 pm I’m too tired to think about the science behind our diet. 

But I started reading it again yesterday because it’s interesting if you can wrap your brain around all the (very flawed) nutritional studies. I think I read that it was in 1912 that a Polish scientist coined the term “vitamine”. Seriously? 1912. I’d assumed we’d figured that stuff out eons ago. But, here we are, in 2013 and we still haven’t figured out what we are supposed to be eating. Boggles the mind. 

It does seem that we’d be better off eating less processed stuff though, but that seems impossible to escape. How does one avoid even most of the processed food available, much less all of it? Do you spend your entire day cooking and then cleaning up after said cooking and eating? I know it can be done (obviously), but how do you cook the majority of your food without going crazy?

Leave a Reply

